The Educational Theatre Association creates an educational and professional network for theatre arts educators, students, professionals, and enthusiasts to share ideas and support the effort to have theatre arts education recognized in all phases of education and lifelong learning.



Executive Director


Mark “Salty” Saltalamachia

Executive Director Mark Saltalamachia is affectionately known as “Salty.” He is currently director of theatre operations at Franklin High School. Salty studied theatre arts at Simpson college in Indianola Iowa and MTSU. He received his Bachelors of Science in Speech and Theatre from MTSU in 1992. While in college, he was listed multiple times in Who’s Who of American College Students, The National Dean’s List and was appointed President of the local chapter of Alpha Psi Omega. Salty has been teaching, acting and directing for nearly 30 years and received awards for his outstanding productions within the community, as well as being named Who’s Who of American Teachers, numerous site level awards and, 2019 Spotlight Award for Outstanding Direction. Salty attended over a dozen thespian conferences in Memphis before he and his fantastic staff moved the annual event to MTSU. He and his crew look forward to continued Thescon success!


Conference Coordinators


Cindy Fehrman

Cindy has been working with ThesCon since the move to MTSU in 2014 as Salty’s assistant. She enjoys creating a space for Thespians to come together and express their love of theatre.


Paula Flautt

Paula Y. Flautt has been the Artistic Director of Christ Presbyterian Academy for twenty-eight years. Her theatre productions have received awards from the Tennessee Thespian Conference, Tennessee Theatre Association, Southeastern Theatre Conference, and the Spotlight Awards. Her students have gone on to work on Broadway, national tours, television and in film. When she has time apart from her beloved high school students her favorite creative pursuits include voiceover work, playwriting and consuming sci-fi/fantasy novels and movies. Her Thespian adventures in high school played a large part in finding her life’s work, and so she is VERY honored and thrilled to serve on the amazing team that facilitates the Tennessee State Thespian Conference.


Lisa Moody

Lisa has been teaching at Brentwood High School for 25 years.


Michelle Tripp

Currently the theatre director/teacher at Page High School in Franklin, TN, she holds degrees in Mass Communications, emphasizing in television/radio, and Speech/Theatre, along with a Master’s in Education. She earned her certification in Theatre Education and is in her 21st year of teaching. Her theatre department has received awards for her outstanding productions, including a national award recognizing her set design for Cinderella. Her students and program have also been nominated for several Spotlight Awards, including winning Outstanding Lighting for Jekyll & Hyde and Outstanding Supporting Actor for Mamma Mia!. Over the years, several of her students have also represented Page at the Governor's School for the Arts. She believes it is a true honor to be one of ThesCon's coordinators and working with some of the best Theatre teachers in the state to bring this event to high school students.


Rebecca Tertzakian Williams

The theatre teacher and director for Independence High School, She began her teaching career after graduating from Concordia University Chicago with a degree in speech and theatre. While teaching in Chicago, she brought back the musical after a 20 year hiatus and directed a total of five shows. She moved to Tennessee in 2007 and founded T-Time Productions at Independence in the fall of 2009 and has directed 11 main stage productions since including Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, The Crucible, and Hairspray. When time allows, she gives private acting lessons and dabbles in script writing.